Board of Directors


Ontario Natural Food Co-op is owned and governed by its members. ONFC is led by a 9-seat Board of Directors who represents over 660 member retailers and clubs.

The Board of Directors is an elected body responsible for overseeing the affairs of the Co-op on behalf of the membership (the owners). The Board is accountable for ensuring the long-range security and viability of the corporation and making decisions in the best interests of all members.

Of the 9 Board seats, 5 seats are assigned to the retail co-operative and buying club members (known as Group A). Four seats are assigned to the natural food retailer members (known as Group B).

Key facts:

  • Directors are elected at the Annual General Meeting, held in the Spring
  • Director terms are for 1 or 2 years
  • The Board meets 6 times a year (4 in-person, 2 teleconferences)
  • Meetings, typically, are held on a Sunday from 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Morning sessions are often devoted to either strategic planning or training
  • Meetings are usually held at the ONFC office in Mississauga
  • Typically a Director joins at least one committee of the Board:
    • Finance
    • Governance
    • Membership
    • Strategic Planning
  • Directors are volunteers. There is no Director remuneration.  All expenses associated with Board duties are covered by ONFC (travel, accommodation, etc.).
Loretta McHenry
London Food Co-op, London
Byron Cunningham
Planet Bean Coffee (Sumac Community Worker Co-op), Guelph
Vice President
Donald Altman
Karma Co-op, Toronto
Anastasio Miras
Big Carrot Natural Food Market, Toronto
Guy D’Addario
Nature’s Emporium, Newmarket
Tori Kelcey
Kelcey’s Nutrition Centre, Peterborough